My garlic press goes vroom! (Lemony Tuna and Olive Oil Pasta)

Things are looking up around here!

  1. I made some scones (stay tuned for the review!) and I can smell them baking. This cold is whipped.
  2. Little K went in for a weight check today and he went up two percentage points to the 6th percentile in weight and seven percentage points to the 25th percentile in height! My tall, skinny baby is gonna look like his daddy!
  3. Spring is coming. Know how I know? Today when I let the dogs out, instead of walking to the edge of the deck, seeing the snow and running back to jump throw themselves on the door until I let them back in, they did their business and then proceeded to lay down on the deck and sun themselves.

A couple of days ago, I wasn’t feeling so optimistic and wanted a quick meal to fill our bellies, but I had no energy to give to the prep. I also had nothing on hand. I found this recipe using pasta, a can of tuna, some red pepper flakes, and a lemon. Perfect.


Lemony Tuna and Olive Oil Pasta

Overall: three-star

This was a pretty good recipe for what it was: something I could throw together quick, using just the ingredients I have in my pantry. The flavor was pretty subtle, but it was healthy and fresh. (Recipe here, from Real Simple.)

Ease to Prepare: four-star

Very little effort goes into this recipe – which was perfect for me this week! I used spaghetti instead of linguine and didn’t even bother with the parsley (I used a little dried parsley since that’s all I had). It was a fast meal that you can make with one eye trained on the Simpsons episode on your TV and the other on your glass of wine. I took one star simply because you have to zest a lemon. I hate zesting.

Instructions: five-star

Great instructions, very thorough. Gold star just for writing it right into the recipe that you can reuse the same pot as you cook the pasta. I do think the instructions should explicitly state not to drain the tuna – since most people just automatically do that. In this recipe the flavor-infused oil that the tuna was packed in is very important!

Food: two-star

E didn’t love this one. I thought it was pretty good, though a very subtle and quiet flavor. The red pepper is so so important though, without that punch this would be duller than a butter knife. We ended up adding some grated Parmesan on top and that gave it a bit of a boost, though it took away some health points. To be fair, I didn’t have the tuna packed in oil – just the kind in water, so I think we lost some flavor there. It does have a nice lemon flavor in the background, but I would have added in some spinach, baby tomatoes, or maybe a little more of the red pepper flake.

Clean up: four-star

Because you reuse the pasta pot to prepare the sauce, this really is a one-pot meal. Love. Again with that damn lemon zesting though. Cleaning that thing is a pain.

8577800321_910ec153f3_b

Know what I love though? My garlic chopper. Love at first roll. Remember when you were a kid and you’d play with your toy cars and say, “vroom! vroom!” Yeah, I do that every time I make something with garlic. (Now you get why I like garlic so much, eh?) Basically you put your peeled clove(s) of garlic in this thing, roll it across the countertop a few times, and presto alla kazam you have finely diced garlic. If you don’t have one, get one. Release your inner child.

Cost: one dollar

Nothing at all expensive and uses ingredients I expect most everyone has in their pantry. A great weeknight meal for when you want something yummy, fast, and with little effort!


How do you prepare your garlic? By hand, with a press, or does your garlic chopper go vroom like mine?

5 responses

  1. I have a press which is ok but I really hate to touch garlic because of the smell and you always need to pull out the remaining peel and then my fingers smell like garlic for days. Oh and way to go little K, grow baby grow!!

  2. I prepare mine by hand but I I’ve seen garlic choppers like yours and I’ve always wondered how well they really work. I’ll have to give one a try now! And good grief Krystal! I’m glad that rash wasn’t any worse! it looks horribly uncomfortable, I hope this is the last of the crazy colds and what not that you’ve been getting!

    • I hope I’m done with the colds too! So far motherhood = blowing my nose 50x more often. Actually though, motherhood = not minding being sick, tired, and unshowered because you’re so in love with the new man in your life.

      As far as the garlic press though – you definitely need to try it out!! And if you decide not to get the garlic roller, at least get a press! Dicing garlic is too much work!

Leave a Reply

