Chipotle Cheeseburger with Chipotle Mayo Saved My Sense of Taste

Is it a secret that we like spice? It hasn’t always been this way, my friends. I used to be afraid to order anything that could potentially have spice to it at all. I wasn’t that far off from my mother-in-law who thinks ketchup is spicy. I’m not joking. (There’s also an urban legend that says she thinks Snickers are spicy too, but I’m not sure if I believe that one.) Now we seek the spice out! The other day we ordered a Mexican sushi roll – because it sounded good – and the waitress said, “Are you sure? It’s hot!” Ooo, sign us up for two then! When it arrived E and I cautiously tested the waters to find, no spice.

I think we killed our tastebuds. It’s a legitimate concern, people. Kind of like when your parents would say, “Don’t make that face, it could get stuck like that.” Turns out your parents could be right. My parents hosted a girl from Pakistan for a semester and she thought the food around here was drab, dull, and flavorless. Sure, add a little spice to your spaghetti – but chocolate cake isn’t supposed to be spicy. My mom was constantly lecturing her about how she was killing her tastebuds with all that spice. I argued that she just had a different flavor palate than we did. Well as I was swallowing my non-spiced sushi  I was acutely aware of the fact that my mom might just be right.

Then E made these burgers. Turns out my tastebuds are just fine. Holy hot mama. To be honest I think the heat is mostly in the mayo – so you could tone things down there. (Also, the jury is still out on whether E has killed his tastebuds. He was eating the chipotle peppers with adobo sauce as he was chopping them. Yikes.)


Chipotle Cheeseburger with Chipotle Mayo

Overall: four-star

This burger screams Corona. Perfect combo.

This was a recipe from a low carb book that we promptly carbed up (it’s a word, trust me) with a baguette for a bun. The burgers were great, but I don’t think they’d be great as a stand alone – add an avocado or something. I also think the mayo is excellent. I’d cut down on the heat some next time, but it’d be great on chicken or as a dip for veggies. (Recipe here, from 1001 Low Carb Recipes.)

Ease to Prepare: four-star

IMAG0120

This is a bit more involved than your typical burger because you have to chop quite a few veggies: peppers, onions, cilantro, and garlic. Also, you’re working with two pounds of ground beef, which is double the amount we usually use to make burgers. If you’re just a family of two, go ahead and half the recipe. The mayo is it’s own step, but it’s a breeze to prepare. You’ve already chopped some peppers so just do a few more for the mayo.

Instructions: five-star

IMAG0127

There’s something beautiful about a recipe that essentially says “dump it all into a bowl and mix.”

Food: four-star

Holy guacamole, look at those peppers.

I loved the flavor on these, but next time I’ll be cutting down on the amount of peppers I use. E loved the heat, but it was a tisch too spicy for me. Feel free to use more or less peppers in yours to adjust the heat level. I really think the heat mostly came from the mayo though, so I think that could easily be mellowed and you could still pack a punch in the burger.

Clean up: five-star

IMAG0123

Cooking things on the grill means less clean up in your kitchen. We had a couple mixing bowls to wash and that was about it!

Cost: one dollar

Burgers really shouldn’t be pricey and this one wasn’t. It used a lot of veggies and herbs, but nothing that should put the hurt on your wallet.

Leave a Reply

