You think you know hiphop (Baked Eggs in Spicy Tomato Sauce)

All weekend, E has been at the Midwest PHP conference, leaving me to my own devices. So far I have decided to use this time by reading, lazing in front of the TV, and shopping. It’s been a good couple of days…

When E was getting ready to leave yesterday morning, he asked me to check what time a particular session started. I pulled up the website and looked at the session schedule. I noticed two things:

  1. There was only one woman presenting (Sara Goleman).
  2. She was presenting “Scaling PHP with HipHop.”

Disappointed, I told E, “Jeez, only one woman and she has to do some watered down version of a seminar? Teaching the language using hiphop.” E stared at me for a minute and then started laughing. Apparently HipHop is a music genre, but it’s also a open source project used by Facebook developers. Uhhh, embarrassing, right?

Well apparently E didn’t think so. At the conference he ran into Sara and led with the story of his ditzy wife thinking HipHop was hiphop. E tells me he didn’t tell it quite like that. Regardless, I’m mortified! Let this be a lesson to you:

hiphop

Something I do know though: if you bake eggs, tomatoes, and goat cheese you will be happy.


Baked Eggs in Spicy Tomato Sauce

Overall: five-star

This recipe is the total package. Affordable, easy, healthy, and so so good. E told me this might be his favorite meal. It’s comforting and you can make it for any meal. I usually make it for dinner, but it’d make a great breakfast too! (Recipe here, by A Cozy Kitchen.)

Ease to Prepare: four-star

I used homemade tomato sauce I had in the freezer, so I skipped the first bit of the recipe. For me the recipe started with blending the sauce and adding it to the ramekins – so if that’s all you have to do too, this is definitely a five star preparation. Even so, the prep to make your own quick tomato sauce is very manageable.

Instructions: five-star

Lots of pictures and a step by step breakdown – the best way to present a recipe on a blog. The recipe itself is pretty easy to figure out anyhow, but the pictures never hurt.

Food: five-star

Serve it with a bit of buttered toast for dipping!

Uh, mmmm, yum. The egg is runny and rich and the goat cheese is unexpected, but amazing with the tomato sauce. I think it’s really important to purée the tomato sauce, the smooth texture adds so much to the overall texture of the dish. Make sure you add plenty of basil too. I added some grated Parmesan on top too, but that’s totally optional. The goat cheese is all you really need.

Clean up: four-star

The blender or immersion blender adds an extra step of clean up, but don’t skip it. Other than that the clean up is manageable. Your ramekins might have a little bit of baked egg on it, but it shouldn’t come off too hard since you don’t cook the eggs too much.

Cost: one dollar

Nothing that’s too expensive and a short ingredient list. Don’t worry if you don’t often cook with goat cheese, it’s nothing expensive. Give it a try! It’s creamy like cream cheese, but has an amazing sweetness to it. (We even love to serve it with green apples and caramelized sugar too.)

2 responses

  1. I printed off your Baked Eggs in Spicy Tomato Sauce/Goat Cheese and Toast. This is on the breakfast menu for this weekend! Sounds awesome, tho my meat and potatoes man probably won’t like it. I’m at least going to make him try it!!

Leave a Reply

