Day-old Guac will Rock your Sock(s)

Last week I mentioned how E went out to the grocery store and picked up the essentials, not realizing I had just done the same. We ended up with half a dozen avocados. (Before you ask, yes avocados count as “essentials.” You can eat them for every meal – even Little K loves him some avocados.) I did the only thing that makes sense. I cut one in half and mashed it for Little K, eating the other half myself with a little sea salt (anyone else love sliced avocados with sea salt? Mmm.). Then I grabbed three more and made this guacamole from Budget Savvy Diva.

If you’re wondering where you’ve seen this recipe before, it might be Pinterest.

There are a few recipes I see over and over again on Pinterest. Mug brownies and this guac are probably the top two.


Chipotle Copycat Guac

Overall: four-star

I made this about a half hour before I served it and the onions and peppers were just way too dominant. Wait a couple hours and it’s amazing! Is it the secret twin of Chipotle guac? Not exactly, but it’s so close!

Ease to Prepare: five-star

Not all that different from a standard guacamole recipe, this just involves dicing some onion and jalapeno and adding it to some smashed avocado. If you complain about the amount of work with this, you’re doing it wrong. Kinda like my Dad and a nail gun.

Yes. That's real.

Yes. That’s real.

Nails go in the wood, Dad, not through your finger.*

Instructions: three-star

I’ve never put lemon in my guac, but it’s definitely Chipotle’s secret ingredient.

Most people know how to cut and dice a jalapeno, but I still think it’s a good idea to explain to remove the seeds. Or, conversely, to leave a few seeds in for spice – which I did. I also found it mildly irritating to have to figure out the lemon and lime juice 80/20 ratio – hey, I’m meticulous when it comes to my guac! I just eyeballed it in a 1/4 cup measuring cup, and it turned out fine. Still, given that everything else is pretty specific it’d be nice to know exactly how much juice to add.

Food: three-star

This is another situation where I have to give it a lower rating, but with a quick change to the recipe you’d have much better results. I prepared the guacamole and pretty much served it up right away since the recipe didn’t say to let it rest. Not a good idea. Each flavor was independent from the other and the onion and jalapeno were bossing everyone around. I couldn’t taste the subtly of the lemon juice at all, not to mention the cilantro. (Just typing that makes me sad. Cilantro is my favorite herb. Ever. Love. Love. Love. I call it catnip for Krystal. Sometimes when I’m dicing it up I just sneak a couple leaves – so yummy! I think it’s so interesting that you can genetically map whether you’ll love or hate the flavor of it. Fortunately E and I both are part of 23andMe and found we both have the gene for preferring cilantro. I don’t know what I’d do if Little K didn’t like cilantro!)

So what can we do to fix the recipe? Easy. Make it and let it sit in the fridge for a couple hours. The onion and pepper will break down a little so they won’t be so dominant. The juices and cilantro will get comfortable with the avocado and become one melded, amazing flavor. We had leftovers and got it out the next day to finish up and realized how much better it was. I don’t think it was Chipotle exactly, but it was pretty darn close. (The lemon and lime juice should keep your guac from turning brown. So as long as you added that, don’t worry about letting the flavors get to know each other for a couple hours.)

Clean up: five-star

Your usual clean up. Nothing out of the ordinary.

 Cost: one dollar

We only buy Mission tortilla chips. They’re amazing. You can usually find them in the ethic aisle, or wherever you find taco shells.

You can get the Chipotle guac flavor for a fraction of the cost. (For real, that stuff is like gold bullion over there. I need to take out a loan to get guac on my chicken burrito bowl.) It doesn’t call for anything out of the ordinary or expensive, it’s just a matter of proportions!


* Note: No farmers were harmed in the making of this post.

2 responses

  1. When cutting up jalapenos. don’t forget to cut out the veins/membranes too! A lot of people think, “Oh, its fibery part of a vegetable so it must be good for me so I’ll leave it in.” It isn’t. Not only does it muck up the pepper’s taste, it also has no nutritional value at all. So when you’re gutting out the seeds, scrape out that other junk too!

    • Good tip, thanks E! And wash your hands when you’re done handling them too! I’m too hasty of a cook sometimes and skip that step. The next thing I know I’ve itched my eye and my eyeballs feel like they’re on fire. You’d think I’d have learned my lesson, but no. Probably happens every other time I cook with peppers.

Leave a Reply

