Don’t throw out your crockpots yet: Baked Acorn Squash

Well folks, it’s finally happened! We have a recipe from a crock pot that I’d recommend trying! Before we get to that though. This:

563530_10200478488022728_182046098_n

See Minnesotans?! You’re weird! I mentioned the whole duck, duck, grey duck conflict in this post and laughed out loud when I saw this picture pop up in my Facebook feed. Frankly I’m a little alarmed about the fact that Little K is growing up in the grey state. In my house, we’ll be playing duck, duck, goose. That and Red Rover. Red rover, red rover, send Waldo right over!

Hiiiya! Treat, treat, treat, treat?


Acorn Squash

Overall: four-star

This is an acorn squash. Know it and love it. Pay no attention to the weird, winter-ravaged monkey hand. Yikes.

Incredibly easy to make, great flavor, and the squash makes great leftovers.

Ease to Prepare: five-star

I usually make squash in the oven using marshmallows and butter. It isn’t very difficult, but it takes a while to preheat the oven and hang around while the squash cooks. This recipe gives very similar flavor and you can set the crockpot and forget about it until dinner.

Instructions: four-star

Who doesn’t love butter, sugar,and cinnamon?

This one is one of the easiest recipes I’ve ever seen, does it even count as a “recipe”? I added a little bit of water part way through because it seemed like the squash wasn’t cooking down at all and the moisture would help. I’d recommend doing that, but I wouldn’t say you need to. And, I still miss having pictures in the cookbook!

Food: three-star

I really loved this squash and will definitely make it again, but I don’t think it’s as rich as the flavor you get from the oven. It could be that I use more butter or simply that the butter has more of a chance to soak in. I felt like this squash was a teeny bit dried out, but it had a more interesting flavor partly because of the addition of cinnamon. Yum!

Clean up: five-star

Just the crockpot and even that just needed a quick wipe. Loved the clean up on this one!

 Cost: one dollar

Great price on this recipe. Rich flavors with only a few ingredients needed.

2 responses

  1. You have to admit grey duck allows your creativity to shine through. Blue duck, purple duck, polka dot duck, velvety duck… Don’t be jealous of amazing Minnesota traditions. 🙂

    • Hahaa, I’ve heard a Minnesotan or four make that argument before. So what’s so bad about being called the grey duck then? It’s such an insult that it inspires you to get up and chase down the “insulter?” Poor little grey ducks, no love for them.

Leave a Reply

