Hey girl, I’ll eat that soggy Pecan Rhubarb Bread

eHeyGirl3My man’s a trooper. His very favorite ingredient is rhubarb. He just loves it – but I can’t seem to cook with it. My cobblers are always runny, my pies are always spongy. Yet I soldier on! I set out to make rhubarb bread from one of his favorite cookbooks, The Joy of Rhubarb, for my valentine. Somehow it didn’t turn out like I’d hoped. I baked the majority of the batter in a loaf pan and it was soggy and almost looked raw in the middle. The rhubarb was just so dense and had so much moisture that it kept the bread from rising. The second I pulled it from the oven and saw that the top had sunk in, I knew something was wrong. The remainder of the batter had been baked in a mug and I cut into that and found beautiful rhubarb bread. Success! So I dished up the good bread for E and the soggy bread for me. He quickly got up for seconds though and came back with the soggy stuff. Smiling, he said, “Yeah, it’s not quite right. But I’ll eat it! It still tastes ok.” What a guy.

I know I’ve got a good one, so when I saw the “Hey Girl, Link Party” over on Decor and the Dog, I knew I had to give my hubby some props. (If you’re behind-the-times on the hey girl memes, this is what I’m talking about.) So, without further ado (because I think I’m a little late to the Link Party on this. Perhaps fashionably late?), here his my very own Ryan Gosling look-alike.

eHeyGirl2 eHeyGirl1E’s so encouraging and patient, he truly doesn’t mind doing the dishes or eating a cold dinner because I had to take photos. Happy Valentine’s Day to my Valentine. Both of them. 8474252978_3593911019_o


Pecan Rhubarb Bread

Overall: three-star

Neither loaf had the whole package. The larger loaf was soggy in the middle. The mug loaf was less flavorful.

Ease to Prepare: five-star

This is an easy bread to make, basically the same as putting together a banana bread.

Instructions: five-star

Thorough instructions, included information about using frozen rhubarb (which I did, as it’s February right now…) versus fresh.

Food: two-star

Mug bread. Good texture, but the rhubarb flavor got lost.

As I’ve mentioned, not the best turn out on this recipe. The mug loaf had a pleasant texture, but the rhubarb flavor didn’t come through as much. The standard loaf had a very soggy texture, but the rhubarb was sweet and tasty. I don’t know if I just didn’t have as many rhubarb chucks in the mug or if the size/type of bakeware had something to do with it. Any ideas? I think if I were to make this again, I’d make it in a muffin tin. Perhaps the rhubarb just can’t cook down enough in a large loaf. I also want to try it again using fresh rhubarb – I think starting with something crisp would help the moisture level in the bread.

Clean up: four-star

Ah, such potential!

A reasonable amount of clean up for bread. I had a couple dirty bowls and the loaf pan. The bread came out very easily from both the mug and the loaf pan, and an easy clean up on those too.

 Cost: one dollar

In line with a banana or zucchini bread, this used a bit of fruit and some nuts. Nothing too pricey there!

4 responses

  1. We are HUGE rhubarb fans at my house, and I have a couple recipes I haven’t been able to mess up. Both are oldies from my mother in law.

    Thanks for linking up your hey girl guy.

    Bliss

    • I’ve found that people either love rhubarb or they hate it. If you’re willing to share, I’d love to try out the recipes you have. I could use a easy rhubarb recipe, since I just can’t seem to figure out the ones I keep trying!

Leave a Reply

