A Country Omelette with Country Eggs

Tips & Techniques:
Making a country omelette

Everyone has that one relative that stands out from all the rest, right? The one that makes you laugh harder, smile bigger, and – yes – more embarrassed than another relative can. For me, that person is my Aunt Y. She has the biggest heart and never lets fear of judgement stop her from having fun. Y loves worships Pat Benatar and Pink. The woman starts screaming if you even mention one of their songs and she signs every text message with, “Hit me with your best shot and raise your glass high!” No joke. At my wedding I asked the DJ to limit the number of Pat Benatar songs played and even put a handful on the do not play list, but I didn’t even think about limiting the number of Pink songs played. I swear we must have danced to every song on the Funhouse album. Y’s personality is so infections that you’ll find yourself jumping and dancing around like a lunatic with her, not even knowing how you got there. After my wedding I had a bewildered friend who said, “did we all line up in a train – with Y at the beginning – and dance the conga to Funhouse at some point?” Yes, that happened.

Y and her family run a farm zoo as well. I’m pretty sure the next time I visit she’ll have llamas. Last time I was at her house there was a roving band of peacocks. Beautiful, but freaking annoying to listen to. Anyhow, they also have chickens and, because they can’t keep up with all the eggs they get, they sometimes share a dozen or two with us. So the last time my family visited, they brought us some farm-fresh eggs.

So for breakfast this morning, I decided to put the old rubber cement aside and make us some omelettes. I am terrible at making omelettes. So bad that a couple years ago I quit trying and just started making scrambled eggs instead. I grew up eating omelettes (err, probably omelets in this case) from one of those pans with a hinge in the middle. Raise your hand if you know what I’m talking about. Ok, great. I don’t own such a pan now, nor do I ever care to (a girl can only store so much, for one thing). So E and I set out on the great omelette adventure of 2013.

We’re going off course a little here because I didn’t exactly follow a recipe, just some good advice. I had seen a video a while back from Chef Jacques Pepin on how to prepare a traditional omelette and a country style omelette. It’s stellar.

I just love listening to that accent and how he says kee-urd. We want large kee-urds, people! I remember thinking I wasn’t ever going to be handy enough to make the traditional omelette, but perhaps the country style one. We tried it a few weeks ago and were too scared to even take photos. It turned out fairly good though! So we tried again – this time with camera in hand!

I don’t think Jacques would be too happy, but we decided to do a Santa Fe omelette. I’m still battling a cold and there’s nothing better for a stuffed up nose than some Tabasco sauce!

See how those curds are nice and large? Also, those brown bits are the browned butter. Make sure to let your butter brown before you pour your eggs into the pan. And you’ll want to add a bit of butter at the very end of the preparation and let it brown the underside of the omelette.

This is a ginormous omelette. But E and I shared it, so don’t too bent out of shape.

This omelette didn’t turn out as great as our first try, but it still tasted fantastic. Just not the same gorgeous presentation as Chef Pepin’s, huh? One thing to keep in mind is to not let your omelette cook too long before you start to roll it up. That’s when it basically just turns in to scrambled eggs. And once you start to roll it up, don’t get too stressed out about rolling it up perfectly. It nearly gave me an ulcer when it ripped apart as I was rolling it, but once I got it all rolled together you couldn’t really tell.

I definitely need to keep practicing this. E is very upset about the whole thing. Having to eat omelettes every weekend for the foreseeable future – sheer torture. I’ll let you know when I’ve mastered the perfect omelette. I’ll be 80-something and I’ll have really high cholesterol levels (too many eggs and all…).

2 responses

  1. I grew up with my dad scrambling eggs then putting a slice of cheese on top and calling it an omelet. I had no idea there was a special technique until my husband started making them. I feel like I can do them pretty good now but I don’t have large curds, mine are smooth.. hmm.

Leave a Reply

