Gluttony upon Gluttony – Ultimate Double Chocolate Brownies

This is what my refrigerator looked like pre-game. Yikes.

This is what my refrigerator looked like pre-game. Yikes.

I try my very best to be a good host. I think I spend so much time worrying about having enough food and drinks, making sure my house isn’t a complete wreck, or that that the dogs aren’t making a mess in someone’s shoes that I forget about the entertaining part of the whole deal. But usually E has that covered, social butterfly that he is (Errr, social dragonfly? butterfly seems a titch too feminine…). For the superbowl soup-er bowl, I inundated my guests with soup. Seriously, way too much soup per guest ratio. Plus, my sister made an awesome chex mix with pistachios and cheese-its. Plus, the 100 breadsticks previously mentioned. Plus, the salad previously mentioned. Plus beer, wine coolers, rum and cokes, and RumChata hot chocolates. That should’ve been plenty, right?

Playing Blokus and drinking RumChata Hot Cocoas. If you don't know RumChata, get to know it today. It will change your world. We use it with root beer, coffee, and hot chocolate.

Playing Blokus and drinking RumChata Hot Cocoas. (If you don’t know RumChata, get to know it today. It will change your world. We drink it with root beer, coffee, and hot chocolate.)

Until E tells me, “I can’t even remember the last time I had brownies!” “Why don’t you ever make brownies?” “Make brownies for the Superbowl dessert.” “I demand brownies!!!”

Ok, I guess it wasn’t quite that vehement, but the man wanted brownies! Considering how often he gives me a foot rub or wakes up earlier than me to go make coffee (that he doesn’t even drink!) and breakfast, I figured I could come through on the brownies thing.


Ultimate Double Chocolate Brownies

Overall: five-star

I found this recipe in my Feb/March Taste of Home magazine, although it was one of those that just tease you with a photo. They make you go to the Taste of Home website to get the whole recipe. Glad I did!

DSCF4696Ease to Prepare: four-star

If you grew up making brownies out of a box like I did, then this seems like a lot of extra work. But for a minimal amount more effort, you have a much better brownie.

Instructions: five-star

The picture in the magazine said to use bourbon (when you put in the vanilla). Do it. Seriously. Just do it and don't ask questions. It added a nice carmel-y flavor in the background.

The picture in the magazine said to use bourbon (when you put in the vanilla). Do it. Seriously. Just do it and don’t ask questions. It added a nice carmel-y flavor in the background.

Lots of detail – including prep time, bake time, and yield. Also, can I just say how much I love when recipes say an ingredient is divided when they’re listing the ingredients. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve put the whole of an ingredient in when it was only supposed to have 1/3 now and the other 2/3 later or something.

Food: five-star

We loved these! I sent home leftovers with everyone and, even though there were plenty of brownies to spare, E and I had to have a quick discussion about how many we were willing to let go.

Clean up: five-star

Is there anything more beautiful? These were gooey and soft right out of the oven and would go great with a cuppa joe or one of those RumChata Hot Cocoas I keep talking about.

Is there anything more beautiful? These were gooey and soft right out of the oven and would go great with a cuppa joe or one of those RumChata Hot Cocoas I keep talking about.

Brownies are usually one of those foods that don’t require a lot of clean up to prepare – just the mixing bowl and maybe a couple measuring cups. It’s usually the pan they were baked in that gives you grief. I used a little Pam olive oil spray and had zero scrubbing to do and no baked on brownie.

  Cost: two dollar

I could be persuaded to rate this recipe at one dollar, but since it required a bit more than an out-of-the-box brownie and I used fancy shmancy things like chocolate chunks and bourbon, I give it two dollars. Really rich flavor for minimal cost though.

Leave a Reply

