Pots de Crème and Social Awkwardness

So, apparently I stink. Or at least that’s the conclusion I’ve come to after a friend of ours cancelled on dinner tonight and then a five month old baby cancelled too!

DSCF4558Our good friend was scheduled to come over for dinner tonight. I was making Penne alla Betsy and Pots de Crème (pronounced po-de-crem), both from Pioneer Woman. Well Pots de Crème need to be made a few hours ahead of time so they have time to set up in the fridge, so I prepared them this morning. Not long after, I got a message from my friend that her brakes went out of her car! Yikes!! So we both agreed that she should probably stay put until they were either fixed, or she had a new car.

Well, I thought, thats ok! E and I will feast on Pots de Crème, plus E’s cousin Joel was dropping off his five month old son for us to babysit tonight. So I could score some brownie points (literally!), and share the chocolate bounty with Joel. Until I found out that Baby C would rather spend the night with his Grandpa than with us! Hey now! That’s two cancellations in one night! One is an unfortunate event, another is something all together different. Do we smell? (I’m blaming Little K’s stinky diapers and excessive spitting.) Is the house a mess? (Yes, always.) Are we poor company? (Sometimes, yes. E’s jokes are sometimes a little painful. “What’s black and white and black and white and black and white? A panda rolling down a hill.” Har!)

Well with our freshly freed up schedule, we decided to have a movie night with an incredible dessert!


Pots De Crème

Overall: five-star

If you’re wondering, I used Kahlua in my recipe. Really works well with the coffee flavor.

If you’re wondering, I used Kahlua in my recipe. Really works well with the coffee flavor.

Instructions: five-star

I’ve made this recipe before and loved it. Loved it so much that it made it into my little red book of recipes. Pioneer Woman usually has great instructions with loads of pictures – and that’s the case for this recipe. Plus, I love that she has a keepin’ it real update that explains further how to prepare this recipe correctly.

Ease to prepare: five-star

DSCF4556

Hey! Don’t forget to let your eggs come to room temperature!

This probably is the easiest recipe I’ve come across in a long time – plus the reward is great. Just don’t forget to let your eggs come to room temperature first!!

Food: four-star

DSCF4595

My recipe turned out really dense this time around – in a good way! E said it was like eating a candy bar in mousse form. Yum!

Really good. However, it’s a bit too rich. It needs to be enjoyed in moderation. This time I made a half batch since I only was serving a handful of people, and I still had more than I needed per serving. E and I were on cloud nine, but had a case of sugar stomach after eating this.

Clean up: five-star

Another easy clean up! This whole recipe takes 5 minutes to make (not including the time it takes to let your eggs come to room temperature, of course), and the whole thing is made in the blender. A cinch!

Cost: two-dollar

This recipe is very dense, so for the price per ounce is probably a little high – though it does just use chocolate chips. It’s worth it though – num!

Penne Alla Betsy is still on the docket, don’t you worry. I’m still planning on making it for our friend, so hopefully it’ll make a blog appearance next week!

Leave a Reply

