Leftovers and Sloppy Joes

What a crummy day. Actually, I take that back. What a crummy end to my day. I goofed and didn’t leave work on time tonight. I goofed even more and didn’t call E to ask him to get Little K. So I was 15 minutes late picking Little K up from daycare. I’ve been late before (like twice in four months) and it’s never been a big issue. Well last night it felt like a big issue. Major cold shoulder. Major judgement. I signed a form saying, “Yes, I know I was late. And yes I know you’ll charge me $1/minute for my mistake.” It felt like being called to the principal’s office. Little K and the daycare worker grimacing at me for the negligence I just inflicted on my baby. I was 15 minutes late people, charge me but spare me the judgement.

Well I made a crummy situation worse by calling E and not getting through, thereby convincing myself that he never answers the phone. E is one of the most attentive husbands out there – I don’t know what I’d do without him. We chat each other all day long at work, and he deals with my dumb tech questions while I try not to read into his shortly worded responses. The man is trying to run a company and all… Still, when he got home I was angry at him and he was angry at me for being angry at him. Grrrr! Please pass me some anger with irritation on the side, thanks! Well what ends a fight better than a bottle of wine and some ‘I’m sorry’ chocolates? Dinner.

DSCF4541Not feeling too energetic I decided to make sloppy joes and have the leftover tomato soup on the side. I’m not a big sloppy joe gal, but if I do make ’em you can bet it won’t be a manwich sloppy joe. Eww. Meat in a can grosses me out. So I looked to my Taste of Home Magazine that came in the mail the other day and found Tex-mex Sloppy Joes. Another happy side effect of making these puppies for dinner? You’ll have this in your head for the next 24 hours. “A sloppy joe, slop sloppy joe.”

Miss you, Chris!


Tex Mex Sloppy Joes

Overall: four-star

Instructions: five-star

There isn’t a whole lot to Sloppy Joes. It’s not like you’re flambeing anything or something.

Ease to Prepare: five-star

Ditto. Not that tough. But the recipe did call for toasting of the buns. Seems like an unnecessary step to me and ads a few extra calories I don’t really need. Fortunately fate saved me from myself and I found out I didn’t even have any buns (the hamburger kind. I have the other kind, with some ‘bun’ to spare.). I used rye bread, tasted great!

Food: three-star

Really really good, but spicy. I think it was all the spices and the chili sauce. I’m still getting over a cold, so I loved it. But it made E cough on the first bite. Hmm, maybe a little too spicy then? I loved the chiles in there – so nice to have a little color!

DSCF4547Clean up: four-star

A breeze! One pan. That’s it.

Cost: one-dollar

Very economical. It didn’t require any strange ingredients, so I didn’t need to go out and buy some ‘eye of newt’ or anything. And it made use of some canned goods to freshen up a old standby.


DSCF4554Well after dinner the fight was over. I think it’s so important for families to sit down and have dinner together. Even if dinner is just some leftover soup and a sloppy joe. It forced us to shove food in our mouth to give the other a chance to talk and calmed our anger. What a crazy thing to fight about, right? I felt – no, I feel like – an idiot for causing the fight at all. But hey, no harm no foul, right? I still feel down about the daycare thing, but nothing that some quality time with my baby can’t fix. I’m sorry I had to miss out on those extra minutes with you, baby boy. I’ll do my best to make sure it doesn’t happen again.

Leave a Reply

